Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

Tzatziki dip

I’m sure when I started this blog I made some internal mental note to never do a food post with step by step instructions and blow by blow photographs. But, as with so many of my critical mental notes I’m going to break it. I am, after all, somewhat of a masterchef amongst my peers.

When I lived in Australia I don’t think anyone thought I was particularly good at cooking. I often foistered my cooking upon people, that is I invited them over and cooked up a storm, or I offered my cooking services for church or camps or sick people. But since living in South Africa my cooking has developed somewhat of a following, so I think I owe it to my fan base to make a foodie blog post. Here my cooking has reduced grown, loud men to silence, made women queue up for lessons, bought Stephen friends at work, deduced Trevor to breathless exclamations of wonder and brought me many marriage offers, including one of 20 cows (which, I understand, is quite a high offering for a woman).

There have also been low points. I used to never follow recipes which had Stephen practically begging me to stop making pancakes, which were much more cake than pan. But this year one of my new year’s resolutions was to follow recipes, mainly so I didn’t waste lots of ingredients, and things have been much smoother since then. Hypocritically though, this recipe is one I made up, so not in the vein of submitting to other’s instructions.

But without further ado, I give you tzatziki dip, not to be confused with the tzatziki dressing with cucumber you put on curry, that wouldn’t make a nice dip. This is best enjoyed with salt and vinegar chips or wasabi rice crackers. You will need fresh mint, natural yoghurt, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

Firstly chop your mint to a fine foliage. I like to use a pretentious cutter like you see in my picture, not sure what it’s called though.

Combine it with about 3 spoonfulls of natural yoghurt.

Add the juice from a sixth of a lemon, and a generous grinding of salt and pepper. Mix together.

Enjoy over scrabble or newspaper reading, and with a cold gin + tonic, preferably prepared by a jealous pregnant woman.

4 comments on “Tzatziki dip

  1. ellidhcook
    March 22, 2010

    Yey! Food blog! Definitely needed.

    Also – please go here: http://babystrology.com/
    and add the baby ticker widget to your blog.x

  2. Pingback: To TV or not to TV « Kimlovesjozi

  3. Pingback: Fee, fi, fo fum! I smell…..giant rhubarb! « Kimlovesjozi

  4. Pingback: Fee, fi, fo fum! I smell…..giant rhubarb! « Kimlovesjozi

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2010 by in Home and tagged , .
