Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

Boy or girl? What say you…..

Since living in South Africa flirting has become my ally in dealing with everyday situations. As well as getting married and knocked up (in that order) in the first 18 months I lived here, flirting has also gotten me out of a speeding ticket, made me friends with many security guards, hastened information I needed at home affairs, and gotten strangers to change my flat tyres. Besides the marriage/baby bit Stephen probably wouldn’t approve of all of this flirtatious activity. However one day when my sad little car was making a particularly strange noise Stephen asked me to go to a mechanic, flirt to find out what the problem was, so he could buy the appropriate parts and fix it himself. Now that I’m clearly pregnant I’ve had to slow down the flirting, but my burgeoning belly does apparently render me hopelessly in need of male help. This brings with it many of the same advantages as flirting.

Today I was on one such mission. I headed down Ontdekkers Road with my best flirtatious/helpless smile on and pulled into a panelbeaters to ask if they could fix the black plastic bits on my car. As I waited for the friendly white man to find me the right product, a much taller and rotund man came out from behind the counter to appraise my belly. “Is it a boy or a girl?” he queried in a gruff voice.

“I’m not sure” I replied to Sarkis, as the stitching on his shirt informed me.

“It’s a boy, definitely. I know these things.” I didn’t reply, just smiled my flirtatious/helpless smile. Even my midwife Ntombi told me she didn’t want to guess, so why would I believe the word of Sarkis the panelbeater?

But then this… “Do you like South Africa more than Australia?”

“Well yes I do, but it’s very different, hard to compare. You have a very good ear for hearing accents”, for a panel beater, I added in the mean privacy of my mind.

“Yeah, but you also just look Australian, and walk like it too.” I have wavered between thinking this baby is a boy or a girl, but now I am sticking with Sarkis, I think it’s a boy.

Besides Sarkis, the only person who knows for sure is Dr Molingoane, a gynae I saw because my doctor was sick. When I was lying there with the picture of the baby on the screen and this elderly black man telling me he knew what it was, my lack of self control took over. I started making eyes at Stephen suggesting we should find out. But we didn’t because Stephen knows best… It aggravates me now that Dr Molingoane holds the keys to that particular kingdom. Though he did put my gender into the computer as ‘male’ so who knows if he can be relied upon.

I really don’t mind which gender the baby is (though it’s easier to knit for girls), but there is a fair bit of pressure from the Reid’s riding on Stephen’s shoulders. His brother has so far produced 3 very girly girls. So if Stephen can’t get his sperm to turn the male way then the Reid name will be no more. From my side there is also the concern that if we have a girl she will be just like I was as a child – a little bundle of horror until I was about 16. Mum always said that I went through my teenage years when I was a child. Any boys we manage to produce will undoubtedly be kind and caring and polite like Stephen. Girls will be opinionated and moody like me. Stephen has expressed a worrying desire to train up the boys in his ways, that is to have them kissing lots of Christian girls from a young age. Rumour has it Stephen kissed 20 girls at a Christian camp in the north of Ireland. Apparently it was his southern accent that charmed them, which is understandable when you’ve been faced with the northern one.

So do you want a polite and wonderful, yet loose-lipped boy, or a tempestuous but moral girl? Cast your vote by leaving a comment below. I will even give prizes to the correct answerers!

Here’s some progress pictures for you to make up your mind….

12 comments on “Boy or girl? What say you…..

  1. Ally
    April 8, 2010

    You look amazing Kim. I think its a boy, because I have four balls of lovely Jo Sharp wool in a soft ocean blue that seem destined for the Reid baby. Cant wait to hear so I can start knitting…

  2. redfear
    April 8, 2010

    My guess is a girl… I’m right about 50% of the time hehe

  3. ellidhcook
    April 8, 2010

    I did think boy. I think I still do. But you know my radar doesn’t work when I’m the wrong hemisphere.
    Still, I am knitting in slightly more boy-friendly colours – maybe my needles have the knowledge?x

  4. Jenny Franke
    April 8, 2010

    Another great blog Kim. I have no idea what you’ll have but I’ll throw in a guess for a boy. The boys need to catch up on out side too!

  5. Jenny Franke
    April 8, 2010

    That should say our side…

  6. Tim Vernum
    April 9, 2010

    I think the cat knows – but she doesn’t look like she’s giving any secrets away.

    Seriously. Cats know these things.

  7. Bec
    April 9, 2010

    Well, when I read the title i immediately thought girl!
    Your stories do seem to make me feel that it could be a boy. especially the doctor… it’s easier to say he conclusively knows what it is if he notices something that just wouldn’t be there if it was a girl…
    but, I’m in a going with my gut mood rather then logic, especially seeing as i haven’t seen anyone else say girl in a 50/50 chance…
    So girl it up 🙂

  8. Bec
    April 9, 2010

    oh, and by the way… totally get the flirting thing, tim would send me to get the pink slip on the car when we figured it was borderline for a pass… it hasn’t failed me…yet

  9. Monique Holder
    April 9, 2010

    hey Kim you look so lovley, i am guessing here as i dont normally know these things, ut i think it could be a boy . the reason being i had a boy and carried a similar wy to what you are.

  10. Derek
    April 9, 2010

    Its a boy thats my gut feeling but then again you can’t rely on my jugment I thought Aedan was going to be a girl 😀

  11. Levy
    April 11, 2010

    i think its a boy … he has to push his father’s christian swag…20 girls!!!! yoh!!

  12. Edward
    April 22, 2010

    I’m going with boy, and if that is indeed the case, i hope u still push for ‘edmund’ as the lil charmer’s name, hehe

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2010 by in Home, Life in South Africa and tagged , , , , , , .
