Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

Stupid, pregnant woman

I am probably going to regret this post. In a few weeks I will probably also regret the way I have spent the last 8 months being determined to be a normal person, despite the little person taking over my body. It was fairly easy to insist on doing my normal things up until the last couple of weeks, and now it is gaining in intensity. It seems as though being pregnant means I can’t do any work, can’t cook, shouldn’t be playing tennis or walking anywhere, can’t drive, shouldn’t carry anything weighing more than 400g and couldn’t possibly dream of sitting on a hard backed chair! I don’t want to sound like an unappreciative cow, I am thankful for everyone’s concern and offers of cushions. But my youngest child stubbornness is rearing it’s very ugly head and now I am all the more determined to keep playing tennis, cook up a storm and perform hard labour, of the gardening variety.

The other patronising thing about pregnancy rhetoric is this idea that pregnant women are stupid and thoughtless. I don’t know of any scientific studies that have actually proven this thing called ‘baby brain’, and I find the notion offensive. The only correlation I can think of between pregnancy and a lapsed mental ability is because the growing baby is taking away a lot of energy, leading to increased tiredness. I have felt pretty sharp during my pregnancy, far more than I have in the last couple of years of living in South Africa. That’s because I don’t feel the effects of culture shock anymore and am enjoying a return to my previous mental state. A couple of days ago Stephen said to me “you haven’t really had any of that baby brain have you”? That’s why I love him.

These pregnancy stereotypes of the stupid woman, the lazy woman, the needy woman seem to be another latent form of sexism that we like to think our modern society have become too mature for. But it seems that patronising female stereotypes are as potent as ever, especially in this realm of baby making. The other place I see it clearly is in literature about marriage and sex, particularly of the Christian variety. If you want to hear my ranty opinions on that read tomorrow’s blog. For now I’m going to go and bake some bread, do some gardening and rearrange the furniture in my house.

10 comments on “Stupid, pregnant woman

  1. Glenda
    May 11, 2010

    Hey Kim there was a study done recently where they disproved baby brain – leaning towards the tiredness aspect. So science is on your side! Hope your last few weeks are just as energetic!

    Praying for a safe arrival 🙂

  2. Jenny
    May 11, 2010

    Hey Kim two thoughts. One is that all that exercise and gardening may help bring on labour so go your hardest. Second, I take it those pants you are wearing are non maternity? If so, I really hate you!! xxx

  3. kimlovesjozi
    May 11, 2010

    I don’t know if I want to bring on labour now. I want to enjoy the last few weeks. I just do not want to go to the airport on the 7th June to pick up mum and dad with no baby and a big belly. That would suck!

  4. Jenny
    May 11, 2010

    Trust me – I’d take earlier rather than later anytime!!!

  5. Jenny
    May 11, 2010

    And the pants??

    • kimlovesjozi
      May 11, 2010

      Yeah they’re not maternity. I only have 4 official maternity items of clothing, everything else are old clothes. Most of my clothes weren’t tight in the first place though which helps! And I wore a lot of singlets etc. Don’t hate me. I hate you for being tall.

  6. Levy
    May 11, 2010

    am guilty of the stereotype…but i knew you would not stop the activities. ppl just think that when u r pregnant u cant do anything 4 urself …basically u r disabled.lol. thats so wrong.

  7. Bec
    May 11, 2010

    I wish I had an excuse like baby brain for my constant lack of coherent thought…
    I don’t think the exertion will bring on the baby yet… the baby is high enough that you can wear those pants… You look good my dear

  8. Monique
    May 12, 2010

    i hate the pregnant women stereotype or generalisation. i still did everything i normally do with the exception of lifting heavy things that is one thing i didnt do. and i definately didnt have “baby brain” quiet the oppisite if felt alot more alert. but my energy levels were defiantely affected in the begining and at the end of my pregncy i was very tired if i made it to 8pm that was good going for me.

    you are looking great Kim and i hope you enjoy your last few weeks.

  9. Pingback: Baby minefields « Kimlovesjozi

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2010 by in Beefs, Home and tagged , , , , , , .
