Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

Gladiator meets Martha Stewart?

This afternoon Stephen and I went to see Robin Hood, the new Russell Crowe version, not the friendlier one from the early 90’s starring Kevin Costner. I must say, the whole thing was rather confusing. It’s a Ridley Scott, who also made Gladiator and Black Hawk Down. Thus we were expecting a fair bit of blood and gore, sweeping battle scenes and more blood. Gladiator was pretty good and for reasons that I don’t even understand Black Hawk Down has become one of my favourites. But Robin Hood didn’t deliver. Robin did a fair chunk of homemaking, only had one moment of battle rhetoric and didn’t swing his sword all that much. It’s like they made the movie just so they could make a sequel. Weird.

Speaking of crap movies and sequels I am loathe to see the new Iron Man movie. The first one baffled and bored me. What is further confusing me though is that the only person who seems to agree with me is Stephen. I think it was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It tried to be a superhero movie, as well as make a social comment on weapons technology and finally show the harrowing treatment of soldiers in captivity. From memory there were also a few moments of hilarity. This combination was very strange. And Robert Downey Jr cannot play a superhero. He’s too nerdy and typecast to be a lawyer. On the posters for Iron Man 2 he looks constipated.

Hollywood seems to be under a mistaken impression that a movie must fulfill all these different things. They try and cram every possible meter of human emotion and experience into a 2 hour block. Why can’t a movie just be tragic? Or funny? Or just be redemptive? The last good movie I saw was How to train your Dragon. I’m not sure if it’s the influence of the little person inside me but it was really lovely.

But maybe it’s just me. What did you think?

4 comments on “Gladiator meets Martha Stewart?

  1. Yolanda
    May 23, 2010

    Must be the IT geek in me …but I LOVE Iron Man 😉
    The kid in me agrees with you on How to Train your Dragon – too heartwarming 🙂

  2. Bec
    May 24, 2010

    I think you’re crazy… loved Iron man and have been meaning to get out and see IM2 since it came out.
    A warning, Tim may disown you when he reads this.

  3. kimlovesjozi
    May 24, 2010

    Why do you all love it!!!!???????? Give me reasons so at least I can try and understand. I am seriously perplexed!

  4. Yolanda
    May 24, 2010

    Well story wise it’s pretty light and fluffy and even fuzzy around the edges – but aren’t most Hollywood mainstream movies??
    But if you’ve ever felt a thrill whenever you cracked an algorithm OR had your voice raise itself in excitement when trying out a new program that does what only a human should be able to…..then you understand the mind of an IT geek. The technology in the movie is just too cool – far fetched (for how long?)…. but too cool!
    Antoine just says he enjoys the action :oP

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2010 by in Beefs, Home.
