Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

KimlovesJozi turns 1!

Today is exactly one year since I started writing this blog. I remember the day. It was sunny and I was cursing wordpress for taking so long to load a header picture. I wanted to be outside in the winter sun, but instead I was inside battling with the internet like a pasty loser. But I think it was worth it, as my header picture looks pretty cool. The person who inspired me to start writing a blog was my lovely friend Ellie. She and I lived in Jozi together for about 6 months last year, too short I think. I had always felt blogging was far too pretentious and I wasn’t interesting enough to sustain an audience. She said that didn’t matter and so KimlovesJozi was born. As well as the blog, Ellie inspired me to continue knitting, have a baby so soon after tying the knot and persist with student ministry. Just as I copied her starting a blog I am going to copy her idea of writing a post about the blog’s birthday.

Here are some statistics about Kimlovesjozi that you might find interesting….

* At the time of publication 6,986 people have visited.

* The highest was 216 people on June 4 2010 when I flooded the blog with pictures of Silas.

* January 2010 was the quietest month, only 62 visits. That’s probably because everyone was at the beach or the snow (depending on what side of the world my reader’s are from).

* May 2010 received the most visits, 2,138 and that’s probably because I was posting everyday. I almost succeeded! I only failed to post on the 31st May, because I was still at the hospital after having Silas. I did manage to post on the 30th, the day he was born, and I even wrote the post in the early hours of the morning while I was in labour. Hardcore.

* I have written 65 posts and received 174 comments, a handful of which have been inflammatory or critical.

* 20 people have subscribed to my blog, but I have no idea who they are.

* There has been 1 guest post written by Stephen Reid. There is an upcoming guest post written by the lovely Brigitte Kabalira.

* Because of me the following people have visited these sites…
22 people have visited Ellie’s blog and maybe been inspired just like me
16 have looked at Jacqui’s cute kids
16 have visited the homeschooling lady I admire yet disagree with
5 have been amazed by Zietsie’s restaurant and guesthouse
5 have tried to understand Guy’s intelligent commentary on architecture
5 have laughed at the scary truths on Stuff White People Like
And 3 have considered birthing at Genesis Clinic

* Strangers and locals have come across KimlovesJozi by searching these terms on google – cheeseburger, “her amazing abs”, brixton dangerous, inside the abdomen during pregnancy, shambuck minister, jozi classy ladies, south african taxi strikes, babywearing while pregnant, dirty downtown jozi at night pics, marriage ball and chain. Oh and my favourite – hot aunty mantra.

Annoyingly lots of readers have commented on KimlovesJozi on facebook or they’ve sent an email to tell me how great it is. That’s all well and good, but they really belong recorded here on the blog. Flatteringly KimlovesJozi has been written about in a magazine, soon to appear in a newspaper and linked by a random Australian Press RSS feed. Other kind people have said the following about KimlovesJozi –

“When I get to work the first thing I do is check facebook and your blog.”

“Your blog has had me glued to my computer screen for the past 30 min. My favourite posts are the birth story series. I hung to your every word, it was as if i was there with you, I could imagine everything. I think you blog might just be my third favourite thing to read, next to the bible and my academic books”. A few months later the same person also said “nothing brings me more pleasure than reading your blog these days.”

“Your blog means so much to so many different people.”

“Your talent is like a lily, simple yet beautiful.”

“I cried. Amazing.”

Thanks for reading.

Attachment blogging

4 comments on “KimlovesJozi turns 1!

  1. Bec
    August 15, 2010

    Happy 1st Birthday Kimlovesjozi!!! Thank you for allowing us to have sneak peeks into the life of the Mansfield-Reid family of Brixton Jozi… what would we do without you?? 🙂

  2. Mim
    August 15, 2010

    Happy 1st Anniversary 🙂
    Keep writing – I love reading your posts.
    Miriam

  3. ofentse
    September 21, 2010

    oops! i will never comment on facebook again.

    • kimlovesjozi
      October 2, 2010

      Your comments warm my heart Ofentse, so you can make them anywhere you like! I hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2010 by in Home, Life in South Africa and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
