Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

What do you do in a day?

This week a couple of people have asked me that fated question, “so what do you do in a day?” I do appreciate the interest, but the question also makes me freak out a bit, like I have to justify my existence and Silas’ dependence. Obviously anyone who has had a kid asks the question with a different context in mind than someone who hasn’t. They know how the stay at home mum thing goes.

Since I extricated myself from facebook a couple of weeks ago I have occasionally found myself looking at the computer screen after checking my email, fingers poised above the ‘f’ and ‘a’, unsure of what to look at next. As such I have discovered new and interesting blogs and other sites to read on the internet. While this can still be a time wasting undertaking, as I was concerned facebook was, at least I don’t waste time looking at the same inane thing more than once.

So in the spirit of pre-empting the question “what do you spend your time doing”, here is the answer. These are things I have decided to look at more than once. I look at these websites at least once a week, if not more. In alphabetical order….

www.abagond.wordpress.com – This is a great, albeit intense and confronting, blog. The premise is a somewhat anonymous author wanting to improve his writing skills. Indeed, this was part of what prompted me to start kimlovesjozi, and certainly what has kept me going. Abagond writes 500 words a day on a range of topic, usually race or history or both. It’s good writing and it’s very interesting. His piece on ad hominem argument is one of the best explanations I have seen.

www.blog.okcupid.com – From first glance at this blog it looks pretty dodgy. I can’t even remember how I first happened upon it. I think I followed a link from twitter rather than through searching dating websites. Okcupid is a true and simple dating website, but the blog is the creator’s observations on the people who use his service. After reading the blog for a while I have come to the conclusion that the creator of Okcupid set up the dating service merely to collect information and make observations on the folly of people. I think that’s what I like about it.

www.hayibo.com – Sadly hayibo don’t operate anymore. It’s a South African alternate news website, in the style of the Chaser (Australia) or CNNNN (USA). Reading through the archives is freaking hilarious. Sometimes the stories are pretty offensive, but they are always, very, very funny.

www.ohilikeyoufood.wordpress.com – Of course I have to mention a food blog. I haven’t cooked a lot of what this lady writes about, and the one thing I did try, I wasn’t super impressed with. Though I may have had something to do with that. But it’s also just good, readable writing, which always helps.

www.theunpersons.wordpress.com – In some ways this is a similar concept to Abagond – short, pithy and frequent postings. The unpersons focus mainly on politics in America, but also comment generally on society. Again, it’s readable, which I think is what keeps me coming back. And the header picture is one of the best I’ve seen.

There are more, but these are the best, most note-worthy at the moment. So that’s what I do, as well as all the other stuff. Like look after Silas. Want to see how cute he is looking these days? Here he is with my friend Patrick….

Scrutinising

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2010 by in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , .
