Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

Kim can’t knit

I suck at knitting. Seriously. I am hopeless. And I’ve been doing it for a long time, more than 10 years I’d say. And before you assume it’s just a passing fancy, that I probably only pick up the needles once every 24 months, don’t. For at least the last 4 years I’ve been knitting pretty constantly all year round, summer and winter. Sometimes I go on hiatus when it all is too depressing and I vow never to knit again. But then, weeks or months later (depending on what other diversions I am into) I dust off the old pincers and lash them to a ball of wool.

And the ironic (or cruel?) thing is I love it. I really love to knit. I love to sit and drink tea, either alone or in company, either in silence or with a podcast, and click clack front and back. (If memory serves ‘click clack front and back’ is a slogan from an Australian seat belt campaign, but it works for knitting too I think.)

Lately I’ve been reading some knitting blogs (mainly this one), watching tutorials and just generally trying to be better at the whole thing. I don’t think I’m improving but reading the blogs has made me realise that it is quite embarrassing to fail at knitting. People who write about it or who claim to love it as much as I do actually have some talent.

I am also a member of Ravelry which is knitting facebook. On it you share current projects, find patterns and mark off your favourite kinds of wool. This is another area I fall down in. The wool I buy would never be on Ravelry. Most of it is pure wool, or a blend of natural fibres, but the generic stuff. However for a project I’ve just started I bought 2 balls of 50% merino and 50% acrylic (gasp!). That could get me kicked off Ravelry. I can hear blood starting to boil in some knitting camps. I already have 8 balls of Sublime Organic Merino for the same project (courtesy of generous Ellie). I just can’t afford the pure stuff, it’s upwards of R70 a ball. Many other Ravellers and knitting bloggers are even writing patterns, spinning their own wool, producing multi-coloured works of wonder and whipping up items of complexity seemingly overnight.

It weighs me down. It really does. This morning I was going to go to a knitting club at my local yarn shop but instead I am writing this post and staring at my current knitting project, mocking me from the couch. I was worried that they would watch my clumsy method and observe the mistakes I am no doubt making and wonder what on earth I am doing at a knitting club. A couple of weeks ago I went to the Melville Scrabble club (can you tell I am wanting to get out of the house?). And it was the same there. I thought it would be dinner, drinks, conversation and a friendly game of Scrabble on the side. No. It was hardcore. Stephen and I play pretty regularly but there were a whole stack of new rules and most of the words my opponents used I had never heard of. Interestingly they didn’t know what most of these words meant, but they were in the stupid Scrabble dictionary (which has no meanings!). Needless to say I was slaughtered. So I just couldn’t take another round table meeting where my shortcomings were laid bare.

But, I will carry on with the knitting, and the scrabble. And I will continue to be average at both.

8 comments on “Kim can’t knit

  1. jacqui
    October 27, 2010

    Hey Kim, I had a lovely 30 min in a knitting shop nearby yesterday morning – touching all the cashmere blends and silks and oh! it was a delight to the senses, Maybe the knitters wont be so hardcore as the scrabblers? All the knitters I know are lovely even the lady I stalked on ravelry for a lost ball of wool. Maybe knitters arent trying to beat each other like the scrabblers but share their craft – there might be a generosity in that – if you lived in Brisbane Id invite you to my thursday night knit night. FUN

  2. Malvina
    October 27, 2010

    Kim, go and enjoy companionship with the knitting club – or at least try it out. You might be surprised and get a few hop tips as well. I’m a hopeless knitter but I love it, and wish I could get some of those hot tips, actually. Anyway, don’t let other people stop you from doing what you love. 🙂 Just do simple things like throws or scarves and such, and you’re still creating something beautiful.

    • Malvina
      October 27, 2010

      HOT tips, I meant. Sorry.

  3. Mim
    October 27, 2010

    Ah Kim, you speak to my heart 🙂
    Being mediocre at something you love and work hard at is hard to take.
    I am about 2/3 through knitting my nativity scene, I started it last Christmas and am hoping to finish it in the next month. It is ok, but just doesn’t look like the one in the pattern!!!
    And my jumper. *sigh*. Took me over one hundred hours…. and ended up being HUGE and almost unwearable.
    Stick at it though, if you love it and get pleasure from it… it must be good.

  4. Tim V
    October 28, 2010

    It sounds to me like you’re great at knitting!

    You really enjoy it, it’s not just a passing fad, and you don’t let it consume your life.

    Why does anything else have to factor into it?

    Do you do it for the end-product? Or do you do it for the enjoyment? If it’s the latter, then you’re doing everything right.

    • kimlovesjozi
      November 10, 2010

      All true. But it does suck when the end product looks like something made for a dog to sit on.

  5. jane.
    October 28, 2010

    i thought a lot about you today because i went to the store to look for yarn to knit Professor a blanket. i kept thinking about that cable pattern you were doing — it’s gorgeous. the darn things require so much yarn though. and yarn is freakin’ expensive. which stinks. but if you know of any good baby blanket patterns that a beginner could do…please pass along….

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2010 by in Home and tagged , , , , .
