Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

Milk and cookies anyone?

In my post yesterday I wrote about the benefits and the pressures of breastfeeding. A common struggle that I have heard mother’s complain of is not enough milk. This is a real problem and I don’t know what causes it – there are probably a range of different things. I wonder if new mother’s received consistent messages about the value of breastfeeding and the need for persistence and were better supported then this would be less of a problem.

Recently a friend in America sent me this excellent recipe for cookies. I have never made cookies before and so I was pretty hesitant, but these are easy and work well. I am hooked. Beyond their gastronomical delight they are also supposed to boost the bodies ability to make breastmilk, hence the name lactation cookies. Obviously this would only have an effect if your body is already in the business of lactating. Stephen has been eating these for a couple of weeks and he is still as much a man as he ever was.

I’ve been concerned about my milk supply since I became pregnant, but it all coincided nicely with Silas chowing solid foods with utter abandon and so my need to produce has diminished anyway. But I didn’t want to stop so these cookies have given me a psychological and perhaps physical boost.

Without further ado, I give you the Lactation Cookies. This recipe was invented by and belongs to Noel Trujillo of the La Leche League in Santa Barbara, USA.

Ingredients –
* 1 cup butter or marg
* 1 cup brown sugar
* 1/2 cup white sugar
* 4 tablespoons water
* 2 tablespoons flaxseed meal
* 2 large eggs
* 1 teaspoon vanilla
* 2 cups flour (if using whole wheat cut down to 1 1/2 cups)
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 3 cups oats
* 1 cup or more chocolate chips
* 2 tablespoons of brewers yeast* (be generous)

Flaxseed (or linseed) meal and brewers yeast can easily be bought at a health food store. If I can get them in Brixton, Johannesburg they must be easily located in other places too. I also add in half a cup of bran flakes and cut down the flour to one and a half cups. I have made 3 batches now. I started with raisin instead of chocolate. Then I made M&M and hazelnut. And yesterday I made coconut, almond and chocolate. The extra ingredients you can throw in are limitless – dried fruit, nuts, seeds, chocolate etc. The oats, brewers yeast and flaxseed are the breastmilk boosting ingredients so don’t replace those.

Method –

Preheat oven at 190 degrees celcius. Mix together 2 tablespoons of flaxseed meal and water, set aside for 3-5 minutes. Cream (beat well) butter or margarine and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, mix well. Stir flaxseed mixture and add with vanilla to the margarine mix. Beat until blended. Whisk together dry ingredients, except oats and chips. Add to butter/margarine mixture. Stir in oats then chips. Scoop or drop onto baking sheet, preferably lined with parchment. The dough is a little crumbly, so it helps to use a scoop.

Bake 8-12 minutes, depending on size of cookies.

Serves: 6 dozen cookies

Preparation time: 15 minutes

4 comments on “Milk and cookies anyone?

  1. Hannah
    March 14, 2011

    Hi Kim!
    I found your website through Ellie while I was still pregnant as I was interested in your birth story (and I think it is because it is hard to imagine what it feels like that people like reading them rather than the more morbid car crash fascination). I had a problem with low milk supply for a while until I found out that always feeding on both sides at every feed worked a treat, although I don’t think I can resist the sound of these cookies in the name of good nutrition for my son 🙂
    Your blog entries on the subjectivity of child rearing theory have helped free me from stress about which one to follow. I think you have loads to write about every day in March too 🙂 For example, I am interested to know the follow up to a few of your previous blog entries – is Silas sleeping better than he used to? Are you planning to birth without pain relief again or was once enough? Have you come to a conclusion about child baptism? And are you going to change the name of your blog when you move to Australia?
    Sorry, I have had all these questions stored up – should have just asked them as you wrote your blog entries!
    All the best for your move and new baby
    Hannah

    • kimlovesjozi
      March 14, 2011

      Hi hannah,

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Ellie is cool hey 🙂

      I’m glad that you sorted the breastfeeding thing out. There are always glitches but most can be worked through I think. Strangely I read in a reputable book (The Baby Whisperer) that it’s bad to swap sides during a feed, rather you should just use one side. The author also said that breastfeeding was no better than formula feeding – something I obviously disagree with. That’s what drives me crazy about the subjectivity! Different expert opinions saying different things.

      I’ll think about your follow up ideas. How about you write your birth story for the blog, or on something else? You’re obviously a good writer.

      Love Kim.

  2. ellidhcook
    March 16, 2011

    How lovely when friends meet!

    I was a little concerned when I started reading this post Kim, because I recently read this article:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-12569011
    And was a little concerned about the ingredients in your cookie recipe. 😉
    x

    • kimlovesjozi
      March 16, 2011

      Hey Ellie, I’ve been following that story and trying to formulate a blog response to it. It’s very interesting from an ethical point of view I think.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2011 by in Baby, Home and tagged , , , , .
