Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

The Cactus Flower

Each morning I walk from my house down to the bottom of Auckland Park and back up again. Just inside Auckland Park there are spectacular cactus plants growing outside a ramshackle house on Hampton Ave. Before I came to Johannesburg cactuses were something that you bought in a tiny pot and hoped would grow but never actually changed. They were silly little novelty plants.

In South Africa I’ve seen them growing in gardens and in the wild, and they grow incredibly tall. This one on Hampton Ave is like that. It’s at least two stories high. It’s quite spectacular. If that isn’t enough the cactus is now flowering, something else I didn’t realise these plants did, not colossal, tough ones like this anyway. The flower suits the spirit of the cactus, it looks thick, but still soft, and it’s a pale yellow to match the smoky green of the body of the plant.

I love how beautiful things can come out of ugly. Like butterflies out of caterpillars or precious babies out of painful labour. The cactus flower looks like a particularly pertinent example of this.

It reminds me of one of my favourite books, George Eliot’s ‘Silas Marner’. I’ve loved ‘Marner’ since I read it in highschool and then at university. It’s also the inspiration for my firstborn son’s name. This may be a little odd if you’ve read ‘Silas Marner’. When I used to tell people that I wanted to name my kid Silas they would be shocked if they knew the story. One friend proclaimed “why do you want to name him after a cranky old man?” And that is indeed what Marner is.

The story begins with Silas Marner as a young man, working hard in his community, engaged to a young woman and serving his local church. After being cheated by his best friend, ostracised and demonised by his church family and community and dumped by his fiancee (who married the friend) Marner leaves town and starts a new life. But he doesn’t turn over a new leaf, rather a rotten one. The book fast forwards to Marner as a middle aged, cranky man. He has no friends and refuses to participate in normal society. He hates and mistrusts people. All he does is work constantly at his spinning wheel and obsess over the pieces of gold he earns.

He loves the gold. Every evening after a day of spinning he gets the gold out of it’s hiding place and greedily paws over it. With his failing eyesight the shiny colour is the only thing that lights up his grey cottage and life. But then it gets stolen. Poor Marner. He’s already had a crap time and he’s already so cranky. Lost and distraught he starts again to rebuild the pile.

One snowy evening he stumbles back to his cold stoep to find a blurry mess of the colour gold in a heap in front of his fire. Drawn by the colour he touches the shape, in hope that it is his loot returned. But it’s a little, lost orphan girl with golden, curly hair. He immediately adopts her, giving her the name Eppie and becomes a most devoted father. Eppie is his way back into the community. His neighbours help him to raise and discipline her. Eppie changes his life. She is the cactus flower. She is beautiful and she transforms something ugly and rough. I won’t give away the ending, but it’s as beautiful as the rest of the story.

My hope for Silas Reid is not that he will be reclusive or cranky like Marner. But I hope that the way Eliot describes the change in Marner will be true for whatever Silas Reid faces in his life – “as the child’s mind was growing into knowledge, his mind was growing into memory: as her life unfolded, his soul, long stupefied in a cold narrow prison, was unfolding too, and trembling gradually into full consciousness.”

Life and the world are pretty messed up. You have to be living a pretty reclusive life yourself to not realise that. Sometimes I agonise about bring children into this world and what life will be like for them when they are adults. I hope that Silas Reid will be like Marner, that the difficulties in his life will be altered and brightened by cactus flowers.

13 comments on “The Cactus Flower

  1. Jenny
    March 20, 2011

    Great post, Kim, really beautiful. I think I will read that book now!

  2. Mim
    March 20, 2011

    George Eliot is one of my favourite authors. The Mill on the Floss was given to me by my English teacher in year 7 and it changed my life. I read Adam Bede on Beach Mission one year during the “siesta” times each day. Moved to tears. Middlemarch was great, Romola I found very difficult to read.
    I haven’t read Silas Marner… I will do now though, after reading today’s post. I think Silas is a lovely name 🙂

    • kimlovesjozi
      March 20, 2011

      Hey Mim,

      If you could get through all of those you’ll be fine with Marner, it is short comparatively! What was hard about Romola?

  3. Leonie
    March 20, 2011

    I completely understand the love you have for that book, as it is on of my favourites as well. I was really pleased to see that you gave him Silas -I think it is a great name 🙂

    • kimlovesjozi
      March 20, 2011

      do you love it from school too?

      • Leonie
        March 20, 2011

        Oh yeah definitely. It was my fave the first time I read it and has remained so 🙂

  4. Tara
    March 20, 2011

    I religiously read your blog and am constantly awed by your amazing ability to write. I am often disappointed when I come online to find there isn’t a new entry since the last time I checked.

    To date, I have yet to post a comment, but today I thought I might. I have never heard of George Eliot but you have inspired me to read Silas Marner and perhaps some of his other books.

    Thanks for entertaining us with your writing and inspiring us with your thoughts.

    x

    • kimlovesjozi
      March 20, 2011

      Hi Tara,

      Silas Marner would be a good place to start with Eliot’s writing, it’s not as long as some of the others. Though I will warn you, there are some tedious passages (like any writing from that time). Eliot is all about detail and so there are some bits of Marner that go on and on. Eg there’s a scene when Silas goes to the local pub just after his gold has been stolen to get help, but before he arrives there is a loooong section where the people in the pub are discussing all different things, it’s very time consuming. But it’s a great story. Eppie’s real parents come into it and there is good character development of different people in the community.

      And George Eliot is actually a woman but she wrote at a time when she wouldn’t have been able to be published so she used a man’s name. Good on her!

      I hope you’re going well,

      Love Kim.

      • Bec
        April 3, 2011

        great post, great story… nice to know where the origin of Silas comes, I’m not at all surprised there is an inspiring literary source.

  5. Pingback: It’s the end of the month! « Kimlovesjozi

  6. Meg Story
    June 9, 2011

    Hi Kim,
    Just discovered your blog after reading Jenny’s new foray into blogworld =) I’m really enjoying browsing through your pieces- hope you’re settling back into life in Australia well.
    I too have loved Silas Marner since reading it in high school and then at uni. Love the name and the thoughts behind it.
    Love Meg

  7. Pingback: Two is better than one « Kimlovesjozi

  8. Pingback: Happy 3rd birthday Kimlovesjozi « Kimlovesjozi

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2011 by in Baby, Home and tagged , , , , , .
