Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

The end.

It’s time to say farewell to Kimlovesjozi, for the moment at least. I’m not going to shut it down, just go on hiatus from updating it. In reality I probably won’t come back to it in it’s current form.

I’ve loved writing this blog. It’s been one of the most unexpected things that have kept me going over the last few years.

But it’s stymied. It’s not that I don’t have things to write about. I’m constantly thinking of stuff to say. I write posts in my head while I am busy with other things. But it’s the actual act of sitting down and making something cogent and palatable that I don’t have physical time or headspace for. And to be honest, I’m not sure where to take it now that I no longer live in lovely Joburg. I could write about my family or the weather or political events or church life or compare stuff here to stuff in Jozi. But not only do I not have time, I don’t have the skill to make it all hang together in a sensible way.

The internet eats up too much of my time. It’s bad. I want to give more time to playing with Silas and interacting with Oisín during the day. Kimlovesjozi no longer gives me a place to channel ideas or vent or share experiences, but feels like a monkey on my back. After camping a few times in South Africa I’ve decided I really, really hate monkeys. So this one has to go.

Thanks for reading and commenting and making Kimlovesjozi far more buoyant than I ever thought possible.

2 comments on “The end.

  1. ellidhcook
    September 20, 2011

    I’m going to miss it – I’ll just have to make more of an effort at emailing/writing letters so I can keep up with your exciting life so far away!x

  2. Bec
    September 20, 2011

    Thanks for your time and effort that you put into kimlovesjozi till now! It’s always been a great read… interesting thoughts and a great way to see what’s happening in your life… at least now I an keep up to date with what’s happening in your life in person… lucky me…
    Thanks kim

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
