Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

What do you do with delicious pumpkin?

We are eating a lot of pumpkin around here at the moment. My local greengrocer sells good sized Jap’s for a measly $2. The flesh inside is bright orange and soft, and they last and last partially chopped up in my fridge.

This last week of the month is going to be another lean one around here. I have $10 left to spend for the week on groceries. If only I knew more ways to use pumpkin as a base for cooking, perhaps we might cross the line on target. But we are getting a bit sick of Spicy pumpkin soup, pumpkin and chicken lasagne and roast pumpkin. Do you have any suggestions?

On a related topic I’ve been loving my weekly fruit and vegetable delivery from Illawarra Fruit Direct. They deliver for free each Thursday, so long as I make my order by Wednesday night. The produce is local, delicious, fresh and lasts. It’s tasty and never disappointing, as I have so often found fruit to be when I have bought it elsewhere.

All these talk is making me want to be a vegetarian again!

5 comments on “What do you do with delicious pumpkin?

  1. Jo
    April 23, 2012

    Pumpkin risotto? Pumpkin quiche? Pumpkin bread? Pumpkin scones?

  2. Mim
    April 23, 2012

    Vegetable fritta, using roast pumpkin, roast potato (diced) and roast capsicum. Yum!

  3. Mim
    April 23, 2012

    PS I usually chop up and roast a heap of pumpkin (or other vegies) and then freeze it in one cup quanitites to use in future quick meals.

  4. thehungrymum
    April 23, 2012

    Pumpkin is my very fav vegetable & I am a vegetarian! I have a great recipe for vegetarian pumpkin lasagne on my blog [thehungrymum.wordpress.com].
    Why not try a simple Thai curry using pumpkin, tinned coconut milk, shop-bought curry paste and chickpeas?
    And last night I made a *divine* [if I do say so myself!] pumpkin pie for dessert, using a recipe from the book ‘Bake’ by Alison Thompson.
    My friend makes a fab pumpkin salad with baby spinach leaves, pine nuts & fetta.
    I could talk pumpkin all day!

  5. Jacqui
    April 23, 2012

    Pumpkin and spinach and ricotta cannelloni, pumpkin and chickpea curry, mmmm I have me a sizeable piece of pumpkin in the fridge too, let’s get cooking!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2012 by in Cooking, Home and tagged , , , , .
