Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

K+J = Married

Today we had the pleasure of going to the wedding of our friends Kate and Justin. It was one of the best weddings I’ve ever been to (and I’m not just saying that because they’re my best friends, I really mean it). It was chilled, we played bocce and cricket in our heels, the view was spectacular, the company was good, Oisín was popular and we all looked hot.

Kate is one of my oldest and closest friends. It’s for occasions like today, and the lead up, that makes the difficulties of moving back here to Australia, and the longing in my heart for Jozi, a lot easier to bear. If we had still been living overseas I’m sure we, or at least I would have come back for it. But it’s wonderful to have seen at least some of the journey that today made Kate become Mrs Cole.

I first met Justin at the end of 2008. I was back from South Africa visiting for December. My memories of him are that he was quiet, but pretty easy to talk to, interesting, and attentive to Kate. But I didn’t think that he liked her then, I think he just liked being her friend.

I can’t remember when I first heard that it was on for this quiet boy and my bestie. But I know I was happy about it. I was sad I couldn’t be around for the blossoming romance, but I was glad it was happening.

Fast forward to May 2011 and our return to Australia. One of my top priorities upon returning was to suss out Justin and ensure his suitability for my friend. I wasn’t disappointed. Today Kate married one of the best men around. Justin is still quiet, still very interesting, but I’ve learned he’s also passionate, feisty, talkative, confident, an amazing chef, selfless and eager to follow God and his word.

Silas loves him. Once Kate and Justin were over and after the shyness subsided Silas ran and threw himself into Justin’s arms. It was awesome. Justin bought toys from Ikea for Silas and Oisín to play with when they go to their new house (read: babysitting). Justin catered Kate’s kitchen tea. The food was divine. On that Saturday afternoon I was eager to be a useful friend and help clean up. I went into the kitchen to see if I could make a start, but Justin had done it all.

This guy’s a keeper. And that’s exactly what my friend did today, she kept him.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One comment on “K+J = Married

  1. Kim
    May 7, 2012

    That’s great news!!! Lovely photos and your haircut looks great 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2012 by in Life in Australia and tagged , , , , .
