Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

Everyone else’s worst nightmare

This time next week I will be at Sydney Airport getting ready to board my flight to Dublin, Ireland. Silas and Oisín are going with me and Stephen is following in a couple of weeks time. We’ve had this trip booked for quite some time now and I’m so glad that it is finally just around the corner.

We haven’t seen Stephen’s parents since April 2011. They have never met Oisín, their second youngest grandson. Stephen’s entire family haven’t all been together since his sister’s wedding in 2006. Since then I’ve entered the scene, and seven new grandchildren have joined the Reid family. It’s a wondeful thing that we are able to go and visit.

I’ve received a fair amount of flack from people about my decision to fly to Ireland alone, with two toddlers. Flying with children is one of those things that strikes deep, irrational fear into people. I haven’t enjoyed the concern and have found people’s reactions to be, at times, unkind and unnecessary. It’s not as if we’re just going on a holiday for the mere sake of pleasure or fun. We’re going to be with important family members and to enjoy and partake of Stephen and his son’s Irish heritage. It’s a good cause that I’m submitting myself to 30 hours on a plane with my frightening children.

But, they’re not actually that frightening. I spend every second of every day with them. I can read their reactions to things and can predict when they are about to freak out. Hopefully I’ll be able to use that to my advantage as I occupy them on the flight. It could be a terrible 30 hours. They could cry, scream, hit me, hit other passengers, throw stuff and generally be annoying. Or they might be really cute and obedient, read books, draw, press buttons (and there are many of those on a plane), cuddle, sleep and smile sweetly at strangers. It will probably be a combination of all of these things – so just a normal 30 hours then.

I’m not worried about the flight. I’m looking forward to it because I know that waiting at Dublin airport will be two loving and enthusiastic grandparents. Flying is actually really boring. But it won’t be for me. And once it’s done we will enjoy five weeks of Stephen’s mum’s cooking, Stephen’s dad’s homemade toys, a visit from dear Ellie and of course, Dublin. We will miss Stephen terribly, but look forward to our reunion with him after two and a half weeks.

I’ve been reading some Dublin travel books and am looking forward to the Guinness Factory, the museum of Modern Art and Kilmainham jail. Silas too has taken a keen interest in one of these travel books and likes to read it out loud. It’s pretty adorable. Maybe I can get him to do this next week for our fellow passengers to win their affection? Either that, or Oisin can smile at them through his long eyelashes. I think we’ll be fine.

5 comments on “Everyone else’s worst nightmare

  1. David Hutt
    August 20, 2012

    I can’t believe people are giving you grief about this! Have a great trip!

  2. Kim
    August 20, 2012

    Have a lovely, lovely time 🙂 Look forward to some posts on time in Dublin!

  3. Rachel
    August 20, 2012

    Yay!!Cant wait to see you and meet the boys (o: x

    • kimlovesjozi
      August 21, 2012

      You too Rach. It’s going to be great to see our boys playing together. Maybe Samuel could give Silas some much needed lessons in sharing with younger brothers?

  4. Pingback: Best laid plans…. « Kimlovesjozi

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2012 by in Beefs, Kids and tagged , , .
