Kimlovesjozi

Scary stories from a lovely place

Rain = pizza

The sky is full of rain today. Outside it’s chilly and bleak, but inside it’s mellifluous and peaceful.

I’ve been dreading this kind of day. Lately me and the bojkies have been getting on each other’s nerves, without a day stuck inside to make it worse. But today we’re actually having a nice time. There’s been a lot of cuddling in front of the television, craft, bed-jumping, playing with the cardboard from toilet rolls and blue sky/rainbow spotting. We’ve shared fruit and lollies (these are synonymous to my kids minds) and many, many cups of hot tea.

If we tried to do this on a sunny day, it would be a disaster. The kids would be bored. There’d be fighting and shouting and tears. I think they understand what rain means – that it quietens the body and calms the mind. Hopefully in the not too distant future we’ll be able to spend rainy days reading books in bed, dozing and cooking gourmet soup dishes.

That was my favourite way to spend quiet, wet days before I had kids. The cold and the wet just drives one into bed and under the covers. I have to ignore this most basic instinct now that my kids would find such activities rather boring. But it hasn’t all been un-fun for me today. I like watching my kids having fun and enjoying their reactions to each other and their games. I’ve read a few stellar articles from the current Monthly magazine. And I’ve done a spot of cooking.

Unfortunately I’ve had to opt for basic recipes that are ingrained in my mind because I have to manage two kids on stools as well as doing the actual cooking. We made chocolate and oat muffins and a delicious Marghretia pizza for lunch. It was just a lebby bread base, red capsicum and tomato sauce, cheese and (wet) oregano and thyme from the garden. But it was oh so nice, and we all demolished it and demanded more.

IMG_1172

IMG_1175

IMG_1177

This is the recipe for the red capsicum and tomato sauce. It was originally a red capsicum soup recipe but I think it works better as pasta or pizza sauce, or as a part of antipasto. I make it in bulk and we eat it for weeks and weeks.

4 or 5 red capsicums, sliced and roasted
1 tin chopped tomatoes (or 4 fresh tomatoes chopped)
1 Spanish onion, chopped
250mL of chicken stock (or water) – perhaps more depending on the quantity of the other ingredients and how thick you want it
garlic

Fry the onion and garlic in some olive oil. Add all the other ingredients and simmer until the red capsicum looks bloated. Process. Eat or freeze!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2013 by in Cooking, Home, Kids and tagged , , , , , .
